The Fraunces Tavern Museum is one of New York City's oldest landmarked buildings. The building houses not only the museum on the upper levels, but one of the oldest bars in New York on the bottom floor, which is still decorated like it was in the 1800's. Several notable events have occurred at the tavern, including speeches from George Washington, meetings between Aaron Burr and Alexander Hamilton, and a terrorist bombing. Learning about the building's rich history is worth the trip, even as a local New York City resident.
Fraunces Tavern is known as the place where George Washington gave his famous farewell address to his officers in 1783, but the building traces its history to 1719 when it was built as a home for Stephen DeLancey. Over the years it has had several changes due to fires and alterations. The building was converted into a tavern by Samual Fraunces in 1763 and eventually into a museum by the Sons of the Revolution in 1907.
The Museum features a restaurant and an extensive collection of Colonial America, Revolutionary War, and Early Republic artifacts, including a lock of George Washington’s hair and the world’s largest collection of John Ward Dunsmore paintings.
Fraunces Tavern was one of New York's earliest preservation projects and one of the first New York City landmarks designated in 1965. The Landmarks Conservancy helped to save the Fraunces Tavern block as a historic district in 1978.
Something wrong with this post? Let us know!