Ivan Ravaioli and Ainara Arteaga Win the 8th Annual Red Hook Crit Bike Race

The Red Hook Crit is a bicycle race using fixed-gear bikes around street laps in Brooklyn. The men's race takes 24 laps for a total distance of 30km, and the women's race takes 18 laps for a total of 22.5km.

Yesterday's race marked the 8th annual race and it did not disappoint. Here's the official recap:

A sunny, but windy day in Red Hook, Brooklyn, gave way to some of the finest racing in the history of the Red Hook Criterium as familiar athletes and ambitious newcomers fought for a place on the podium in the first race of the 2015 Championship Series.

For the women’s criterium, Kacey Manderfield Lloyd, who famously won the inaugural Red Hook Crit in 2008, qualified in pole position but could only make third behind Fleur Faure and our winner for 2015 Ainara Elbusto Arteaga who had a phenomenal ride.

Thibaud L’henry, the reigning men’s champion, started 2015 as he left off with pole position in qualifying but fell to challenges from Raul Torres Pagaza and Luis Junquera, who was beaten out by Ivan Ravaioli by a wheel in the final sprint.

Ravaioli finished with a time of 40:18.8 for the men and Arteaga with 34:21.3 in the women's race.

Check out the race highlights in the video above from DiabloNYC.

Matt Coneybeare

Matt Coneybeare

Editor in Chief

Matt enjoys exploring the City's with his partner and son. He is an avid marathon runner, and spends most of his time eating, running, and working on cool stuff.

Something wrong with this post? Let us know!

Brought To You By…