On December 17th, 1900, Ellis Island opened the doors to the iconic, main immigration building for the first time. Though the island had processed immigrants since 1892, the massive building that filtered over 12 million immigrants during the following years was only built once the need for it arose. Ellis Island operated until 1954, where it was then turned into a museum about a decade later.
Something wrong with this post? Let us know!